Mississippi Ornithological Society

MOS

Welcome
Membership
Officers & Contacts
MISSBIRD@freelists.org

Publications

Mississippi Kite
Information for Articles
Newsletter Guidelines

Activities

Meetings
Birding Activities

Birds

Birds of Mississippi
Birder's Resources
MOS State Checklist
Photo archive

Submit Photos &  Sightings

Documentation Form
Submit Your Photos
Records Committee
More
Useful links
    Other Organizations
Contact Us
     Acknowledgements
 

WELCOME to the home page of the Mississippi Ornithological Society (MOS)!

MOS was founded in 1955 to promote a greater appreciation and protection of native birds, to cooperate with other organizations engaged in the observation and study of birds, and to encourage ornithological research.

MOS publishes the MOS Newsletter and The Mississippi Kite, a journal devoted to information about the habits, behavior, and status of birds in Mississippi.

The society holds semiannual meetings around the state to hear speakers on ornithological topics and to enjoy field trips into areas near the meeting site.

To learn more about MOS and its activities, follow the links on the left side of this page.  Enjoy!

MISSISSIPPI CHRISTMAS BIRD COUNTS 2013



 

Arkabutla Lake  Date: Jan. 4   Compiler: Van Harris (shelbyforester1223@bigriver.net)

 Corinth  Date:  Dec. 14 Compiler: Steve Icardi (icardis@bellsouth.net contact before count)

 Dahomey-Great River Road  Date: Jan. 3  Compiler: Becky Rosamond, Mark Bonta Contact Larry Pace (larrypace64@yahoo.com)

 Eagle Lake  Date:  Compiler: Bruce Reid

 Grenada Date: Dec. 18 Compiler: Gene Knight (gsknight@hughes.net)

 Hancock County (Southern) Date: Dec. 17 Compiler: Ned Boyajian (nedlucyboyajian@bellsouth.net)

 Hattiesburg Date: Dec. 28 Compiler: Larry Basden (larryb@basdenfamily.com), John Smith

 Jackson Date: Dec. 28 Compiler: Mary Stevens Stripling (stevenswaterbird@bellsouth.net)

 Jackson County Date: Jan. 4 Compiler: Millie Page, contact Sharon Milligan (2sharon123@gmail.com)

 Lauderdale County Date: Jan. 3 Compiler: Nancy Donald  (nmdonald55@att.net)

 Moon Lake (Lula) Date: not set, contact Compiler Dick Preston for info: dickpreston@bigriver.net

 Natchez Date:  Compiler:

 Noxubee N.W.R. Date: Dec. 14 Compiler: Terence Schiefer (TSchiefer@entomology.msstate.edu)

 Sidon Date: Dec. 28 Compiler: Philip Barbour (Philip.Barbour@ftw.usda.gov)

 Sardis Lake Date: Dec. 21 Compiler: Gene Knight (gsknight@hughes.net)

 Tupelo Date: Jan. 4 Compiler: Carol Fields

 Vicksburg Date: Dec. 14 Compiler: Allyson Harrison (ally6765@yahoo.com)

 Washington County (south) Date: Dec. 29 Compiler: Paul Hamel